WordPress New Feature: “Possibly Related Posts”

Today I noticed that on some of my blogs there was now a “Possibly Related” link section at the end of my blogs and I checked the HTML seeing if some how I had accidently added this to those blogs. Nope, it was a WordPress announcement that I hadn’t noticed yet, called “Possibly an Announcement“. I’m hoping this will work out well. Seeing the fact that I’m afraid it’s going to make my blogs looked cluttered and not actually have relitive links I’m not possitive that I will be keeping this new feature or not.

From the announcement:
In a feature we’re calling possibly related posts we’ll now try to show posts related to yours a little section at the end. If we find any posts on your blog that are related, we’ll put those at the very top and in bold. Next we’ll show other posts from around WordPress.com, and finally we’ll check if there’s anything in the mainstream media.The result is a handful of links that should provide you and your visitors something interesting to check out. On blogs that cover the same topics frequently related posts could cause a 5-10% increase in traffic overnight. You could also start to see traffic from lots of other blogs. It’s a bit of an experiment, and we’ll be tweaking it a lot based on your feedback and the data that we collect once everything is live.

Right now this is just for English blogs, but we’re working on the technology to roll this out for every language we support. We’ll also be adding some ways for you to tweak the results to your liking.