Off in the world, totaling cars

Where have I been? Off in the world.

Over the past couple of weeks the biggest event that unfortunately comes to my mind first would be that I was in a wreck while driving the Lexus LX470. Some people would rather use the term “accident”, but I have come to not like this term. Why not? Because from my perspective an accident means that it was unexpected and no one was at fault. Someone is always at fault in an “automobile accident”. My conclusion is to say wreck instead.

Off of my rant and onto what happened.. I was driving down the road and the car in front of me slammed on there brakes giving me no time to slow down in time. No, I was not tailgating them, and no, I was not talking/texting on my phone. Yes, I was paying attention, and yes, I was far behind them. I’ll start out by saying that no one involved was seriously hurt, which was my main concern. The person that was in the car with me and I were still a little sore for a couple days after, but nothing severe. Thankgoodness. The car was a whole different story, it’s officially totaled and I was saddened to see it leave the wreck in the condition it was in. It held special meaning because it was my grandfather’s, who passed away in 1999. This one event has taken up most of my time and thoughts the past little bit. Thankfully some pressure has been taken off by getting a new car.

Other things that have been keeping me busy have been: running errands, looking for cars, apartment hunting, planning beach get-a-ways and other daily nonsense.

It’s good to be typing again. 🙂

(My mother tends to read my blog on a regular basis and has asked not to see any pictures of the car, so to see pictures click where it says “read more”)

 

Wrecked 1998 Lexus LX470With the hood already taken off.

Hood of wrecked 1998 Lexus LX470
The hood where the collision occurred.

4 Responses

  1. […] Frank Filipponio wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptI was driving down the road and the car in front of me slammed on there brakes giving me no time to slow down in time. No, I was not tailgating them, and no, I was not talking/texting on my phone. Yes, I was paying attention, and yes, … […]

  2. well it’s sad to know what happened to your car but at least you’re now replacing it with a new one… 🙂

  3. Timmy, it’s definitely sad. 😦 ..But like you said, at least there’s a replacement and no one got hurt!

Leave a Reply

